April 20, 2020

What Is A Chakra?

Align My… What?

You’ve probably heard it before – “align your chakras” is frequently heard from spiritual practices, businesses, teachers, and friends. The chakras are often mentioned or displayed in colorful artwork in metaphysical stores and healing spaces, but what’s all the hype about? What even is a chakra? For those who aren’t experienced healers or practitioners, the term can be cloudy. Let’s clear it up!

The word Chakra is a Sanskrit term that translates literally to wheel or disk. The concept as we know it developed thousands of years ago in the Vedic or yogic tradition of India. Chakras are considered “energy vortexes” within the body, a universal idea referring to energy that moves in a spiral at specific areas, like the stomach or throat. In the human body, there are seven major chakras that run from the base, or root, of the spine to the crown of the head. These seven – the root, sacral, solar plexus, heart, throat, third eye, and crown – correspond to nerve centers and major organs along with emotional, mental, and spiritual states of being. However, they aren’t the only chakras in the body. Smaller ‘vortexes’ exist on the palms of the hands and soles of the feet, above and below the head, and other major organs. Our planet even has chakras, found in places known for energy vortexes like Sedona, Arizona.

The Prana Engine

What does a chakra do? It’s similar to a turbine or engine that keeps your energy field and auric system running while you are alive. Like the heart must continually pump blood and the lungs inhale and exhale, the chakras must move to keep your life force, called prana, flowing. Our respiratory system and veins have to remain open and fluid, and this is also true of the chakras – blockages lead to many experiences, including mental or emotional discomfort, physical pain, and illness. For example, if you have frequent stomach problems, you could have a blocked solar plexus or sacral chakra. If you have issues with your heart, it’s likely a sign that your heart chakra needs some TLC.

The chakras sit above the body and are meant to rotate or move. When you go to heal or work with a chakra, you are saying to yourself “I want to heal the overall energy in this location” or “I want to repair this turbine of energy.” There are different developmental stages of the chakras, from an underdeveloped beam of light to a spinning lotus-like experience that emerges from the chest for the Mahatma, or “great soul.” The way that your chakras look and feel gives you the power to see where you are in your own personal development.

Library of the Soul

When you work with and heal your chakras, you heal the greater dimensions and layers of yourself. This is why it’s important to understand them. They house different energies, different emotions and experiences – your identity is in one place, while your intuition and grounding are somewhere else. They are a complex energetic storehouse for not only this lifetime, but others too. Chakras are a library of the soul, so don’t be afraid to explore them, learn about them, study and develop them. You’ll find yourself happier, healthier, and more fearless in who you are.

Learn more about your chakras through methods like yoga, meditation, sound healing, oils, and crystals. To visualize a chakra, imagine a swirling wheel of energy above the body.